Heads Up: I am no longer a fan of Wealthy Affiliate. I explain part of my reasoning here, here, here, here, here and here. There are alternatives. The content below may not fully reflect my current opinion of Wealthy Affiliate.

Wealthy Affiliate Review and Your Online Business in 2021

Wealthy Affiliate Review and Your Online Business

My detailed Wealthy Affiliate Review covers pros and cons I noticed since I joined in 2015. I stopped my Premium Membership after over six years due to a number of reasons.

Wealthy Affiliate is a platform for affiliates. These days I don’t use them at all. I no longer use Wealthy Affiliate Managed WordPress hosting. I did not renew my Premium membership in March 2021. I use different informational sources to help me remain up to date with what is happening in the SEO world and in the Affiliate Marketing world. I explain why in this article to help you make an informed choice.

Executive Overview of Wealthy Affiliate

Wealthy Affiliate is an online platform that helps people work in the online affiliate marketing space. They provide online affiliate marketing business training, a keyword research tool and a secure managed WordPress website hosting solution with other related online services.

What I Used Them For

Secure Managed WordPress Web Hosting, 24/7 Support on Web Hosting, Keyword Research, “Running an Online Business” Education and Training mainly focusing on affiliate marketing.

Summary Overview

Product:Wealthy Affiliate Trial Membership (Free Starter)
Primary Pro:Actionable practical steps to build your online business
Primary Con:Some of the core training is outdated and just plain wrong now
Primary Membership Benefit:Supposed to be current up to date proven affiliate marketing – Other providers of affiliate marketing training educate you on what is working for them as affiliate marketers now, not what worked in the “stone-age”
Target audience:You, if you want to start and build your online business
Membership Price:Free Starter (They encourage you to upgrade to Premium membership at about $50 a month and they also encourage you to consider Premium Plus membership at about $100 a month)

In my opinion this is not worth it as there are other alternatives out there whose information is more current

Table Of Contents

Wealthy Affiliate Review Introduction

The Wealthy Affiliate platform is a platform that includes online video education and training about affiliate marketing. They also provide secure managed WordPress website hosting with good technical support 24/7.

Coupled with the WordPress website hosting, they have a keyword research tool. You should know that there are loads of keyword research tools out there. The Wealthy Affiliate keyword research tool has not received many truly independent reviews that say it is good when compared with the competition. Yes, there are loads of reviews about it but they are not what I call truly independent reviews. Wealthy Affiliate also have other offerings with their membership packages.

This Is My Detailed Wealthy Affiliate Review

This is a detailed review. Anything less would be short changing you. Included is my initial history with Wealthy Affiliate. Reliable secure managed WordPress hosting is included in membership. I include my experiences with them between January 2015 and September 2021. I did not renew my annual subscription in March 2021 for various reasons. I no longer recommend them.

My Initial History with Wealthy Affiliate

I myself first came across Wealthy Affiliate when I read a review of Wealthy Affiliate in January 2015. After reading that review, I was interested. I was curious and took full advantage of their free trial. This includes access to 20 free online training lessons on running an online business with a big focus on affiliate marketing which they are already highly successful in.

I joined in January 2015. Since then I have been a continuous member of Wealthy Affiliate. I had been a continuous Premium member since February 2015. In March 2021, I did not renew my Premium membership. These days I don’t use them as much as I used to. If you are wondering why, read the Heads Up section above this post. 🙂 🙂

Huge Community
Wealthy Affiliate Review - Huge Audience

Wealthy Affiliate is now a community of over 2,000,000 members. Yes, that is not a typo, over 2 million members strong.

Looking back to when we started in 2005, I would have told you that you were crazy if you said that one day Wealthy Affiliate would be a community 2,000,000+ members strong.
Kyle, co-founder of Wealthy Affiliate on January 7, 2020.

Update: This figure had increased to 2,300,000+ members strong by November 2020.

Wealthy Affiliate is a platform that is supposed to be designed for affiliates of all levels, including those thinking about it, those who are already highly experienced and those in between.

Good Strategic Move If You Want to Build an Online Affiliate Marketing Business?

No, it is not.

This consists of online affiliate marketing business education, online affiliate marketing business training, online affiliate marketing business tools, online affiliate marketing business products and online affiliate marketing business services. They are all designed to help you to build your very own online affiliate marketing business.

Excellent Core Affiliate Marketing Training Courses (But Some Content Outdated)

They have excellent core affiliate marketing training courses with some content outdated. These were developed by a highly experienced affiliate marketer. He is a great teacher and a great communicator.

Online Entrepreneur Course - Level 1 - 10 Lessons
Learn and Do

The core training courses follow a learn and do approach. First you learn about the online business lesson concept. This could be online text or online video or a mixture of both. Then you do some related tasks on your online business to implement that learning which is a good way to learn, practice and in time master practical online business real world know-how.

Work From Home Notes Logo

Knowing stuff without doing stuff gets you … nowhere.

David from Work From Home Notes

Work at Your Own Pace – as Fast or as Slow as You like: You Are in Control

You work at your own pace. This can be as fast or as slow as you like. You are in control. This is how it should be. Certainly this is one of the things I like.

I don’t have to wait for the slowest learner in a classroom situation when I understand concepts way faster than the slowest learner. More importantly to my learning, I can take my time when I find it hard to understand concepts. At least I know that I am not slowing down the learning experiences for other people and can focus on my learning.

You do associated tasks after the learning at each step if you want to. I encourage you to do so if they make sense for you. This acts as a way to cement the knowledge and help turn that knowledge into real world practical know how.

Wealthy Affiliate - Bootcamp - Level 1 - 10 Lessons

I did each of the twenty core lessons available in the free trial. I was willing to spend some time to see what this was all about. I decided to do the first free course and see how I found it. I did the first one and then decided to do the second one. Then I did the second one and then decided to do the third one. And so on.

I did each of these 20 free online training lessons and knew I found something valuable.

The first 10 lessons I did were the 10 lessons in phase 1 of their Online Entrepreneur Certification course.

The next 10 lessons I did were the 10 lessons in phase 1 of their Affiliate Bootcamp course.

There is some overlap between the lessons in both courses, however I found that acted as a refresher and cemented what I learned earlier. So all good there.

I Did Not Have to Do Both Sets of Courses

Of course, I did not have to do both sets of courses. Choosing one set is also okay. I was doing these lessons using my free trial. This was before spending any of my own money. I was doing as much as I could using this free trial to see if this is a good fit for me.

I found the information in these free lessons to be interesting and practical. Thank you Wealthy Affiliate for helping me start my affiliate marketing business … lol.

An Effective Way to Learn about Running an Online Affiliate Marketing Business

Using the online training material within Wealthy Affiliate saved me tons of time in learning about running an online business, especially affiliate marketing concepts and principles.

Good Practical Real World Introduction to Managed WordPress Website Hosting

Using the free trial they even let me build a free website using their managed WordPress hosting. Try getting that elsewhere. They use WordPress hosting. This is used by over 30% of the websites in the world. Getting familiar with WordPress is a good thing in today’s modern online world. This is an added bonus.

Other Online Offers for Web Hosting

Other online offers I seen for world-class web hosting involves you spending money up to 36 months in advance before you can even host your website.

Web Hosting like all products and services comes in many different favors. For example budget, standard and first class.

Pay Money for Three Years in Advance with No Experience of the Provider – You Are Kidding, Right?

No, I am not kidding. I am serious. I know one world-class web hosting provider (Bluehost), according to the reviews I read about them, that will want to lock you for up to 3 years in advance with you prepaying the price for these 36 months in advance (albeit at a special introductory rate) before you have even tried them out.

How often do you purchase products and services where you have no personal experience of the product or service for this length of time and pay the money in advance for this length of time?

Some of them will even lock you in for up to 3 years with you prepaying in advance for the full 3 years at a special introductory rate BEFORE you have even used their web hosting. What do you do if that web hosting does not meet your needs? Good luck getting your money back in that case.

Exploring the Wealthy Affiliate Free Trial

Back to my initial history with Wealthy Affiliate, I decided at that time to explore this further and took full advantage of the Wealthy Affiliate free trial.

I am thrilled to report that it was a great decision at the time as it led to great learning outcomes for me.

Probing into Wealthy Affiliate
Website Building At Work From Home Notes

Here you will find my Wealthy Affiliate – Overview section. This is a high level bird’s eye view of what Wealthy Affiliate is about. You will also find out about some of my early experiences of Wealthy Affiliate which you might want to copy.

I include a brief overview of their offerings. The most important in my view is their detailed core Affiliate Marketing education and training which is designed to give you a comprehensive practical know-how on a number of different affiliate marketing strategies that work developed by a highly experienced affiliate marketers who knows how to communicate this effectively.

Get a Competitive Edge

Very often it is practical education and practical training that gives you the competitive edge. Often if you can learn how a successful person does something step-by-step, you can copy that process for yourself and become successful doing that activity. This is one way that Wealthy Affiliate help affiliate marketers.

This is followed by some of the things I like about Wealthy Affiliate. Then to be fair, I also include some of the things I do not like, which in my view are very minor. I then conclude with my closing conclusion.

Wealthy Affiliate Review Overview

Learning to ride bike with training wheels

This Wealthy Affiliate Trial membership is for you if you are interested in learning how to be an affiliate marketer or if you want to build an online business. This trial membership gives you access to some great training.

Do What I Did and Grab a Free Trial

Do what I did. Start a free trial. Review what is in the free trial. Determine for yourself if this is something that you like.

A great advantage is that you can start this in your own spare time at home connected to the internet.

A Heads up: This Does Take Time to Learn and Master

Just so your know, affiliate marketing is something that takes some time to learn and master. It is not a “get rich quick” scheme. It is going to take time and effort to learn and master this. How much I do not know as there are loads of variables involved.

What I can say is that the affiliate marketing training provided within Wealthy Affiliate provides a lot of useful practical knowhow that when applied sensibly should help you greatly on your affiliate marketing journey.

The Wealthy Affiliate trial membership gives you access to some affiliate marketing training which empowers you to start to build your own website within the Wealthy Affiliate platform to see if this is for you.

Start Building Your Own Website on Your Own Timetable and on Your Own Schedule

You can do this to your own timetable and to your own schedule. You are in total control. This is how it should be.

As I mentioned earlier, I regularly use them myself. This website is hosted here. It is using technology and applied know-how learned at Wealthy Affiliate. I don’t know about you, but I hate it if I read a review and feel that the reviewer is not talking from their own personal experience. Know that this is not the case with this review. I have been a continuous member of Wealthy Affiliate since January 2015 and premium since February 2015.

Here I review Wealthy Affiliate which I recommend if you are interested in affiliate marketing or running your own online business. Wealthy Affiliate provides a lot of step-by-step training designed to help you get your website (or websites) up and running.

What the Training Includes

The training includes online marketing advice, how to build a website, how to research for keywords, how to write posts and technical advice. This should help you out a lot. More importantly, it should also save you a lot of time and expense. Speaking for myself, I wish I found them sooner.

Without Learning You Are Not Able to Do Anything

They provide support and guidance through step-by-step training, through self motivation, and the more you know and the more you learn, the more you do. Without learning you are not able to do anything. For instance in everyday life, I remember learning how to ride my first bike. My parents put training wheels on my bike, and provided support and guidance, and the next thing I knew, I was riding my bike the way young children do.

The same applies here. In many sports it is so much well focused practice that allows players to achieve their sporting success. This allows them to score so much. That is what is going to happen when you get trained properly, however you must also practice properly.

What is Wealthy Affiliate?

The Wealthy Affiliate is a platform that caters for people running online businesses, especially affiliate marketers of all levels. This includes you if you are thinking about affiliate marketing. Or you if you are already a highly experienced affiliate marketer. Or you if you are somewhere in between. It includes you if you run an offline business that you want to get online, especially if you are a “hands-on” type of individual. Of course, you could spend an awful lot of money going online if you do this wrong.

The Wealthy Affiliate platform focuses on providing practical affiliate marketing education and training. It also focuses on providing reliable secure managed WordPress hosting, keyword research tool, tools to help create content, other tools, email services and domain registration services.

Although some, though not all of these services are also available from other suppliers, I have come across none that supplies all of these things in the one place at the quality, quantity and price point that they do.

Wealthy Affiliate has a vast array of educational and training material available on their website. Some of this material is actually very good especially the educational materials developed by one of the co-founders.

Wealthy Affiliate Review: What Does Wealthy Affiliate Offer?

Tools, products and services that affiliate marketers need to build their affiliate marketing businesses. This includes Education & Training, Websites & Hosting, Keyword Research Tool and Tools to Help Create Content.

It is easy enough to get help. The easiest way to get help in my opinion in Wealthy Affiliate is to log into Wealthy Affiliate and use the Wealthy Affiliate search bar at the top of the screen. There are many articles within the Wealthy Affiliate library of resources that cover many affiliate marketing topics.

Wealthy Affiliate Review: Who Is Wealthy Affiliate Ideal For?

This is ideal for affiliate marketers of all levels – including those thinking about it, those who already highly experienced and those in between. Anyone who is interested in affiliate marketing. This means all affiliate marketers of all levels, from complete newbie (those just thinking about affiliate marketing) to expert (highly experienced Affiliate Marketers), including all those in between.

This is also ideal for people who want to build an online business. Online businesses and affiliate marketing share many of the same or very similar tasks. Therefore many skills learned for one or the other are directly transferable to the other.

Basic Core Training

The basic core training showing how to choose an interest, build a website, attract visitors and earn revenue. Basic website hosting. Plus more.

You can start doing this in your spare time at home connected to the internet. This is the ideal way to start in my opinion. In your spare time, learning and doing affiliate marketing activities to bone up your affiliate marketing skills.

Once you implement the information that Wealthy Affiliate provides, your online business should know no bounds. Know that the basic core training provided by Wealthy Affiliate is step-by-step training.

This is probably recommended for you seeing as you are reading this. This would be even more so if affiliate marketing resonates with you in any way at any level, including those thinking about it, those who already highly experienced and those in between.

My Experiences

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: wealthy affiliate dashboard menu

I want to talk about Wealthy Affiliate, about some of my experiences with them and why if you are into affiliate marketing at any level, why it makes a lot of sense to become a member. They have a number of useful tools, products and services that help Affiliate Marketers to build their affiliate marketing business. These also help people running other online businesses as well.

Start on the Free Trial

You can start on the free trial to see if it is something for you. This is what I did when I joined first. At that time I did not know if it would be a good fit for me or not. Taking full advantage of their free trial allowed me to explore their offerings in more detail, allowed me to get familiar with them and to see if it was a good fit for me. It turned out that for me, it was and is a good fit.

The Free Trial Is Not a Limited Time Offer

The great thing about their free trial is that this is not a limited time offer. You can actually stay on the free trial for as long as you like. They will host one free fully functional website for you (albeit with advanced options turned off) for your first six months of membership. You see how easy it is to put up a website. Additionally you will also wonder why you did not do it earlier.

I saw a screenshot of a member been on the free trial for over 500 days before that person decided to upgrade to premium membership. That is over 16 months before that person decided to upgrade to premium membership.

Not like other offers out there where the first 7 days is free, then your credit card gets hit. You decide with Wealthy Affiliate when to upgrade to premium if you do.

The Free Trial Includes Some Great Training on Running an Online Business

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: master affiliate marketing with education

When I started my trial, during the first few weeks I well and truly took advantage of the free training that I was given access to. This after long work days in my full time day job.

I Took Advantage of a Special Price Because I Found the Trial Beneficial

I took advantage of a special first month premium discount membership offer for $19. I took advantage of that offer before the deadline. And paid my $19 for my first month of premium membership and before that month was over I had decided to go yearly.

This for a number of reasons, including the fact that I saw the value to me in the affiliate marketing education and training that they gave me access to. Truly excellent and outstanding. Once I decided before that first month of premium membership was over, I decided to pay for premium on a yearly basis as that makes a lot more sense for me than paying for it monthly. That was an informed decision based on my experiences with them during the free trial.

The Main Offerings

As a member of Wealthy Affiliate, what can you expect? Well, they have a range of tools, products and services that all affiliate marketers will find useful in helping them to build their affiliate marketing business. I discuss a few of these tools, products and services.

Education and Training

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: proven strategies to attract traffic
The Affiliate Marketing Education & Training provided is excellent, especially the materials in both of the core courses developed by one of the co-founders. He has a good communication style and uses a mixture of online video and text in his well-structured relevant training courses. These particular courses have also tasks that you do after learning. This means that as you go through his courses, assuming that you are doing the tasks, you are also doing tasks to build your affiliate marketing business. Other members also develop education and training in different aspects of affiliate marketing, a lot of which is pretty good.

Work From Home Notes Logo

Focus initially on the education & training provided in one or both of the two core courses developed by one of the co-founders first and do the associated tasks first before looking at other education and training resources within Wealthy Affiliate.

David from Work From Home Notes

Websites and Hosting

The Websites & Hosting provided is excellent. They provide a secure managed WordPress based hosting solution. Using WordPress means that the websites you develop can be moved to other WordPress hosting solutions. This is an additional comfort thing should it become necessary.

The last thing you want to do is to develop websites and be “forced” to stay within a limited web host’s solution because it is difficult to move that one hosting provider to another because of incompatibles.

Wealthy Affiliate WordPress Hosting

They have an easy to use website builder and provide video based step-by-step training that shows how to build a website in less than a minute on their platform. This website is then available on the internet when that process is complete. Pretty impressive. Of course, once the website is built, you do need to add your content. 🙂

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: build beautiful profit ready websites
Work From Home Notes Logo

Open up your free trial and create one free website using this. Of course, there are more premium functions & features available to premium members however you get quite a lot of functions & features on the free trial.

David from Work From Home Notes

Keyword Research Tool

The Keyword Research Tool provided is excellent. As an affiliate marketer, the content you create on your website is going to determine how successful you are. You create content, your readers reads it, some of those readers take you up on your recommendations. For example, buy something using your affiliate link.

Keyword Tool At Wealthy Affiliate

It is no good creating good quality content if no one reads it. So an important activity is to do keyword research. You want to determine good keywords to use so that over time, the search engines find your content and include your articles in search engine results. A percentage will click through to read that article and a percentage of them will buy from your affiliate links in that article.

Work From Home Notes Logo

Spend time going through the training on this so that you understand these concepts very well. This may save you a lot of time later on in your online business.

David from Work From Home Notes

Tools to Help Create Content

The Tools to Help Create Content are excellent. They have a tool which is designed to help you to write content in an effective and efficient manner. You can design your own templates and then use these templates as you create content. This is a brilliant time-saver.

Of course, you do this writing after doing your research. I find that I can create content very effectively and with efficiency using this tool. I am also able to get images from a library of over 1,000,000 images for my posts. Thank goodness, there is a search function to look for suitable images. I also find images from other suitable sources that Wealthy Affiliate have educated me about over the last while.

Work From Home Notes Logo

Spend time using these tools and see for yourself how effective and efficient they are for you.

David from Work From Home Notes

Pros

There are some things about Wealthy Affiliate that I like.

The Affiliate Marketing Education and Training

The first thing I like is the affiliate marketing education and training. This is excellent. Here I am talking about the training provided by one of the co-founders. He presents the material in different ways which usually involves reading some of his content, viewing an online video presentation where that topic is discussed in more detail.

Each lesson usually includes some action steps for you to do, based on the material he has just shown you. By using a learn and do approach, your practical know-how increases. Using this approach means that you are building your real-world website and building your real-world online business practical know-how.

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: online entrepreneur certification 50 lessons and affiliate bootcamp training 70 lessons
Free Trial members have access to the first 10 lessons of both of these courses. After doing the lessons you have access to, you will have real-world practical affiliate marketing knowledge. If you also do the suggested tasks, you also have some real-world practical know-how on starting to build your very own online business.

The Secure Managed WordPress Hosting

The second thing I like is the secure managed WordPress hosting. This is excellent.

Know That Good WordPress Web Hosting Is Expensive

A free trial starter member can host one website with their starter membership. This is a fully functional WordPress website, that can be used in any niche and it is hosted on Wealthy Affiliate’s state of the art Managed WordPress hosting platform. By the way, Kinsta charges $30 per month to host one website.

The Wealthy Affiliate Premium membership includes 10 websites hosted on Wealthy Affiliate’s state of the art Managed WordPress hosting, and includes full 24/7/365 hosting support.

I have been using this state of the art Managed WordPress hosting since early 2015 and now host all of my websites here.

Hosting Support Needs to Be Really Good and It Needs to Be 24/7 for Every Single Day of the Year With No Exceptions

Every time I opened a hosting support related ticket with them, they have responded in a timely prompt manner, usually with the ticket resolved at that point. I now take this support for granted.

They have set the bar high for all other online businesses. No other online business that I deal with are this responsive. Of course, some of them are very responsive, just not as responsive in my opinion as when a support ticket is opened at Wealthy Affiliate.

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: secure hosting

This state of the art Managed WordPress hosting associated with my Wealthy Affiliate Premium membership allows me to grow my affiliate marketing online business without worrying about web hosting or the costs associated with web hosting because it is already included in my premium membership deal.

When you are logged into your Wealthy Affiliate account, you are able to create your very own secure managed WordPress website. The training that Wealthy Affiliate provides will help you to do this assuming that you can watch step-by-step videos and follow instructions.

Window One I Use to Follow the Online Training Video

I recommend having one window open on one of their training online videos.

Window Two Is Where I Do the Associated Practical Task

And another window open to actually do what the online training is showing is an approach that works for me. And sometimes I find that I may have missed something. So rewinding the training online video and looking again shows what I missed earlier.

There may be differences between the two. This is to be expected from time to time due to the fast moving world we live in. Nothing stands still. So when looking at an online video that shows how to use a certain WordPress plugin, know that your implementation may be different to the implementation used by the trainer. This may result in minor differences or major differences.

Using This Approach Cements My Real-World Practical Expertise

Anyway having these two windows open in this manner helps me to cement my real-world practical expertise, especially when there are differences, as I am now required to do some thinking. For instance, what is the trainer trying to impart? Or How can I do this practical task now that things have changed?

The Keyword Research Tool

The third thing I like is the keyword research tool. This is excellent. I understand that trial members can do 30 searches a month. Premium members can do unlimited searches a month. This allows members to do keyword research looking at the average number of searches per month, the number of competitors and a keyword quality indicator along with other great information.

Here’s an Example of the Tool in Action

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: keyword research holidays in july

This is not an exact science and the figures are not exact. This is a keyword tool used to help you to determine a good keyword to use. A keyword may be a phrase. I explain the figures in this example:

  1. AVG: This figure is the average number of visitors that used this keyword every month for the last 12 months.
  2. TRAFFIC: This figure is the average number of visitors that you could expect if you managed to get your post using this targeted keyword on the first page of 10 results. This is an estimate figure.
  3. QSR: This figure (QSR stands for Quoted Search Results) is the number of competing websites that use this keyword. Depending on your approach, you might want this to be less than 50, or less then 100, or less than 150, or less than 200. This can depend on how established your website is.
  4. KQI: This figure (KQI stands for Keyword Quality Indicator) – This is either “great” (green), “OK” (orange) or “poor” (red). If this is not “great” (green) I usually don’t bother with it.

If There Is a Lot of Competition, There Is Little Point You Using That Keyword

This is especially true when your website is just starting out and has not as yet earned any search engine “juice”. There is little point in targeting a keyword phrase that has a lot of competitors because the search engines are not likely to send traffic your way. If you target a keyword phrase with little competition the search engines are likely to send some traffic your way. If the search engines see that the traffic they send you stays on your website, they conclude your content is good and give you some “search engine juice”.

Notice That the Tool Suggests Other Keywords

If you look closely at the keyword used above, I keyed in “holidays in July”. The second entry in the list “holidays for July” is an entry provided by the tool. You notice that is has less competition, the SEO score is slightly higher and the expected traffic numbers are similar. Those numbers suggest that it would be easier to focus on the second keyword (“holidays for July”).

Some more research would need to be performed outside of this tool to see if this would make sense. I would need to do a quick analysis of the top 10 entries for both these keywords in Google to see for myself what the top entries look like and to determine can I write a better post. If the top few entries are well known organisations who have a lot of quality content, I know with a newly created website that I would not be likely to rank above them. This is just plain common sense, however I do need to do this quick analysis. The primary idea with the quick analysis is to determine to spend more time on this keyword or drop it.

Cons

There are some things about Wealthy Affiliate that I do not like.

Starter Members Are Treated Better Than Ex-Premium Members

It took me a while to find out and confirm that in my opinion, Wealthy Affiliate treat Starter members better than Ex-Premium members. It is not possible to downgrade from Premium to Starter. I explain how I found out this “secret” information in way more detail here.

Off Topic Material

The first thing that I do not like is that there is quite a bit of off topic material within the vast amount of material available. There is some material developed by Wealthy Affiliate Members that is way off topic in my opinion.

By off topic I mean that the subject matter that they discuss is not affiliate marketing related nor is it online business related nor is it business related nor is it self-improvement related.

Some members in my opinion seem to think that Wealthy Affiliate is Facebook, where they exchange “social media” personal type of messages. To each their own, I suppose. 🙂

The Wealthy Affiliate Search Function Needs Improvement

The second that I do not like is that the search function within the Wealthy Affiliate dashboard needs to be improved. This to make it easier to find exactly what you are looking for. They need to include more than the first ten entries in the different categories, like the way that the Google search engine lets you continue looking really deep into something, like the search term I used in the following image. Each page in this case displayed 10 entries:
Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: google holidays in july
If this was a relevant search term in Wealthy Affiliate, I would only have got the first ten entries in the list, whereas in this case with Google, I am on page 22 and each page contents 10 entries, so I could have explored the two hundred and 10 earlier entries in this list before I came to this page (making 220 entries by the time I get to the last entry on page 22).

Members Internal Ranking System

The third thing I don’t like is the members internal ranking system. This is distracting and takes away from the core activities of what you are supposed to be doing in my opinion.

Depending on how active you are interacting with other members and answering their questions, and how you actually use the services and tools within the platform, you get ranked.

This is just an internal ranking system which has no bearing outside of the platform.

There is also no direct financial gain from having a good number. In this case the lower the better.

Way too many members get side-tracked with this internal rank. They think that it is important whereas it has no real bearing at all in the real world.

Work From Home Notes Logo

Don’t get side-tracked by this number.

David from Work From Home Notes

Wealthy Affiliate Review Conclusion

As you can see, Wealthy Affiliate offers a lot for its price point if you are into affiliate marketing and require and actually use their other related affiliate services. Other better affiliate training and affiliate services are available elsewhere.

Wealthy Affiliate review - great for all affiliates: transform your ideas into profits

I find it very helpful that a lot of the affiliate marketing services and products I need to grow my affiliate marketing business I can find inside of Wealthy Affiliate.

The affiliate marketing education and training that they provide is okay but some of the cornerstone training is outdated and no longer effective. If you know little or nothing about affiliate marketing, doing the 10 lessons in phase one of the Online Entrepreneur Certification training and also doing the 10 lessons in phase one of the Affiliate Bootcamp training, may put you way ahead of many other affiliate marketers. But you may likely need alternative sources of affiliate information as well to get other opinions.

Stamp Collecting

Only you can truly determine if Wealthy Affiliate will be good for you. It does in my opinion depends on what you do. Of course, work and time is required at your end as this is not a get rich quick scheme. I also believe there are better current alternatives.

As an affiliate, becoming a member of Wealthy Affiliate was a good decision back in 2015. Being premium I was able to use their hosting, keyword research tool, find public domain images easily, I learned about SEO, how to use Canva, et cetera using their recordings of their live classes.

I work from the comfort of my own home. I use the training I got earlier from Wealthy Affiliate. However I no longer use them. There are now more organisations in this space who in my opinion do a better job. Practices evolve over time. You expect your affiliate marketing training solution to contain training related to the latest developments and to remove training that is outdated and is no longer effective.

I also have a number of complaints, especially a secretive policy of theirs that I discovered recently which annoys me no end.

I discovered this secretive policy when I tried to downgrade my Wealthy Affiliate account from Premium to Starter.

In my opinion, because they way oversell themselves, they do not live up to the expectations created by themselves. Because their training is outdated and of all the other reasons mentioned, I do not think that Wealthy Affiliate affiliate marketing training works now.

The final bottom line for me is how many of their over 2,300,000 members are wealthy due to affiliate marketing using Wealthy Affiliate services.

For me, they failed to help me become wealthy using affiliate marketing.

I am letting you know now about some of the shortcomings I discovered about Wealthy Affiliate to help you make an informed choice. Some of these shortcomings were so serious for me I am no longer a Premium Member of Wealthy Affiliate.

Looking for Affiliate Marketing Training?

When looking for affiliate marketing training, look for people who are currently successful doing this who are teaching their current proven successful approaches and who are not teaching outdated or ineffective appoaches. Look for proof of this recent success from independent well-known trustworthy sources.

If you are looking for affiliate marketing training I do suggest that you look at a number of companies in the teaching affiliate marketing space. Funny enough all the ones I started following recently also have active YouTube channels.

Most of them also have courses which may hit the sweat spot for you. Some of these courses are not cheap so you do need to do a lot of due diligence yourself to be sure that they actually fulfill your needs.

For the moment anyway I am reading their blogs and following them on YouTube. I have already subsribed to their email newsletters. Of course, if you decide to buy anything from those emails be sure to do your own due diligence as well.

I am finding that this approach is working for me. It may also work for you.

Here is my current list as in September 2021.

These are not affiliate links. I do not earn anything if you purchase at these websites.

I think if you are interested in affiliate marketing, you should get an overall view provided by different people who are currently doing affiliate marketing today before spending money on affiliate marketing training if you ever do. If you ever go ahead and spend money with them, be sure to do your own due diligence as well.

Here’s my current list in no particular order as in September 2021:

Income School

Their website and YouTube channel are full of useful information. Their videos are entertaining and full of good information. Their information is based on their real world recent experiences doing affiliate marketing. Their approaches that I am aware off make sense to me.

They change their recommendations and approaches over time in response to the changing world. They do testing and experimentation on their own websites. They regularly start off new websites from scratch.

For instance, they used to recommend three different types of post along with recommended word counts. Since about May 2021 they now recommend two different types of posts along with recommended word counts. These recommendations are based on them doing different experiments on their own websites and what they recently found out. They do that on an ongoing basis. They also recently changed their keywork research process which they call search analyis.

Website: https://incomeschool.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/IncomeSchool

Backlinko

Brian Dean, the founder of Backlinko provides a lot of actionable information mainly about Search Engine Optimization (SEO). If you are doing affiliate marketing, you need to know and do good Search Engine Optimization (SEO). If you look around in his blog you will find a lot of affiliate marketing related resources.

Website: https://backlinko.com
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/BrianDean

Authority Hacker

Their website and YouTube channel are full of useful information. Their videos are entertaining and full of good information. Their information is based on their real world recent experiences in building authority websites.Their approaches that I am aware off make sense to me.

They are data driven and scientific driven. They recommend using a $99 a month keyword research tool in their approach. They don’t earn commissions from that recommendation. In their eyes, that happens to be the best tool for the job. Their idea is to be very smart about deciding what to do (or not do) based in part on figures that this tool provides.

They change their recommendations and approaches over time in response to the changing world. They do testing and experimentation on their own websites. They regularly start off new websites from scratch.

Website: https://www.authorityhacker.com
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/AuthorityHacker

Diggity Marketing

Matt Diggity, the founder of Diggity Marketing provides a lot of actionable information mainly about Search Engine Optimization (SEO). His information is mainly based on tests he has done. He’s not into theory stuff.

Matt also usually blogs near the end of the month with a “News roundup of what is happening in the search engine world, in the google search world and in the SEO world in general”. That blog post usually contains useful timely information.

Website: https://diggitymarketing.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/MattDiggity

My Affiliate Marketing Training Conclusion

These are the people and organisations I feel comfortable sharing with you at the present time. I have learned not to be totally dependent on one source of affiliate marketing / search engine optimization information.

Some of them on occasion disagree with others in approach. So knowing that and maybe knowing when they have their opinion and maybe knowing why they have different opinions leads me to form my own opinion.

I hope that you find the above information useful in your affiliate marketing adventures. If you ever go ahead and spend money with any of them or with anyone else on the internet, be sure to do your own very detailed due diligence as well.

Here Are Some Recommendations

Thank you for reading this article. I hope you found it helpful. Here are some recommendations that I hope you’ll also find helpful. Of course, I may earn commissions if you buy using my links.

Domain Registrations, Renewals and Transfers

I use Domain Cost Club for domain registrations, renewals and transfers. I been using them now for over six years. I find that they do the job and do it very cost effectively. You can read my review of them by clicking here.

WordPress Hosting

A good WordPress Hosting webhost is Bluehost. They have a good interface and they have 24/7 support. I wrote a short post outlining some of the packages Bluehost have available. Click here to read that post.

If you are more technical and already have practical cPanel Hosting expertise, you might find the cPanel Hosting solution I currently use hits the sweet spot for you. Just know this solution does not have 24/7 support.

I wrote a post explaining my definition of managed WordPress hosting which includes a pricing comparison at the bottom of that article. You can read that by clicking here.

Hi, I'm David. I write articles such as this one. Enjoy!

[More About David]

38 thoughts on “Wealthy Affiliate Review and Your Online Business in 2021”

  1. Thanks a bunch for creating this site. I found the information interesting and very educational to what it takes to be a success in marketing will visit again for more reading and updates. Thanks again, Chris

    Reply
    • Hi Chris,

      Thanks for the feedback. I am glad you found the information interesting and educational.

      Thanks for dropping by and providing feedback.
      Kind Regards,
      David

      Reply
  2. David,
    You provided a very comprehensive analysis of Wealthy Affiliate to anyone visiting your website and interested in learning how to build an online business for themselves. I loved how you stated that you “practice what you preach”. You told the visitors that in order to create a successful business, they would have to invest time and effort into building it. It does not happen by luck and you indicated to visitors that this definitely would be the case upon joining Wealthy Affiliate.
    A great job on your part, sir!
    Sincerely,
    Jeff

    Reply
    • Hi Jeff,

      Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to comment on my article. I do not see how someone could give a fair review unless they experienced something for themselves at some stage in their lives or got feedback from someone that they personally know and trust or did a lot of research.

      There is an amount of ‘working smart and hard’, and in order to work smart, you need highly focused knowhow and practical knowhow, these are available within Wealthy Affiliate if you want to build an online business.

      Cheers,
      David

      Reply
  3. Hi David, Why would someone become a member of Wealthy Affiliate? …hmmmm…..Not easy to answer…There are many reasons for that. My own perspective?

    Wealthy Affiliate is not promising success to anyone – Honesty

    The training is so huge, updated and following the latest search engines guidelines, can not be found anywhere else. – Quality and Quantity

    The owners are participating in the forum and the live chat and they are very experienced marketers – Authority

    The live chat is where someone can find instant help , advices , and guidance. Now if you just start in online marketing that factor might not seem as very important but if you get involved you will understand that you will need with your first steps daily. – Interaction

    The support tech team is there 24/7 and solving problems without questions. – Power

    While online marketing is very difficult and takes time to get ranked and start earning commissions there is a free membership that lasts for as long as you need.- Test Drive

    I have tested dozens of programs and nothing is not even close to this.

    The premium membership is very cheap and includes WordPress hosting and all the education courses.

    It is designed for newbies, intermediate and advanced marketers

    That is my own point of view

    Thanks for this review

    Reply
    • Hi Tasos,

      Thank you very much for your comments. They would make up a separate review of Wealthy Affiliate all by itself. 🙂

      Your comments are brilliant. I loved the way you make a point and then summarize that point in a few words. Very powerful.

      Thank you very much for sharing your point of view on this here.

      Cheers,

      David

      Reply
  4. I appreciate a thorough review, you covered the important aspects of Wealthy Affiliate well. Having tried different work from home opportunities in the past with little to no success, I can honestly say that I recommend this training system to anyone that is looking to start an online venture. With limitless high quality training and all the support you could ask for, the possibilities are endless.

    Reply
    • Hi Jess,

      Thank you very much for your comprehensive comments. Personally I wish I found them sooner than I did, and I believe that this is quite common among Wealthy Affiliate members, both those on the free starter membership and those on the paid premium membership. As you say, the possibilities are endless.

      Cheers,
      David

      Reply
  5. I agree with your review and assessment of Wealthy Affiliates as top rated. I can attest to this because I have benefitted from their wealth of experience and expertise. Wealthy Affiliate will take you by the hand and lead you through their step by step training designed to help you become a professional.
    Nice post.

    Reply
    • Hi Sam,

      Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comments. They are very unique and very special. I wish I had found them sooner. I knew I was not the only person who rate them very highly. 🙂

      Cheers,

      David

      Reply
  6. Great Wealthy Affiliate review! I like the fact that you encourage your visitors to try the free account first and wait until the proper time to upgrade to premium.

    I upgraded to premium within a week because I really wanted to start an online business, and the price is better for what’s included than other major website builders and hosting services.

    The Starter Membership is great too, especially because it’s free. I like the fact that, even though it’s free, WA’s owners still provide instructions on how to properly set up a business online in any profession.

    Thanks for this review,

    Travis

    Reply
    • Hi Travis,

      Thanks indeed for your comments.

      When I joined Wealthy Affiliate initially I knew very quickly that I was going to upgrade to premium. I took full advantage of the starter trial membership offer, then I took full advantage of a very special offer to upgrade to monthly premium, then just before that first paid month of premium membership was up, I upgraded to yearly premium as I was so impressed with their offering.

      I have learned a lot of things with them.

      Just today, a Saturday, I had a ‘very low priority’ WordPress question, I asked the Wealthy Affiliate community did they have any ideas. Kyle, one of the owners, replied saying that he expects this to be resolved for me early next week. Wow, one of the owners actually working and replying back to members on a Saturday. 🙂

      In my experience, if you ask other internet based businesses a question over the weekend, you be very lucky to get a reply sometime on the following Monday. 🙂

      Cheers,

      David

      Reply
  7. Getting started online was always the hardest part for me when I was looking in to ways to make money, but I eventually discovered how 🙂

    I love your insights in to Wealthy Affiliate and I can’t believe how much you receive when you become a member of the training program… It’s Amazing!!

    It’s rare that you come across legit programs like Wealthy Affiliate, and this one is certainly a keeper in my eyes!

    Thanks!

    Neil

    Reply
    • Ni Neil,

      Yes, getting started is always the hard bit.

      “The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.” is a famous saying which contains a lot of sense.

      I am thrilled to hear that you are getting started. 🙂

      There is a lot inside of Wealthy Affiliate for sure.

      Cheers,
      David

      Reply
  8. Hi David
    real informative review which covers important bases of why to sign up and get to build a website. Its important also to have certain platforms so that your website will move smoothly which you have said. Once again this is a good review pointing in the right direction.

    Reply
    • Hi Nigel,

      Thanks. Yes, I like to think that the review covered the important bases. Developing a website the Wealthy Affiliate way is a bit like earning how to ride a bike. Once you learn, and the support inside of Wealthy Affiliate is really good, you wonder why you didn’t start earlier with Wealthy Affiliate.

      I hope you enjoy learning how to build a website and enjoy actually building your website.

      Cheers,
      David

      Reply
  9. I went to join up with this lot about three years ago but I was put off because it was a subscription only site. Now I hear, through your article, that there maybe a free entry level membership? Is this correct?
    I was interested before but if it’s free I’ll definitely sign up and try this time!

    Reply
    • Yes, Chris, there is a free membership level. I recommend that you join first at the free membership level. There is also a premium membership level, but I recommend that you join first at the free membership level. You can decide to upgrade to premium when you want to and not before. 🙂

      Reply
  10. wow mr david thanks for coming up with such a great review of Wealthy Affiliate, there have been people around streets searching for job that they don’t get and right here you have provided them with the clue and I will encourage them to follow your site for better

    thanks
    Jose

    Reply
    • Hi Jose,

      Being an affiliate is one way to expand your opportunities for sure. However doing it on your own is not so easy for a lot of people. One way to make it easier for yourself is to do the affiliate marketing education and training by grabbing the starter trial membership as explained in my article above.

      See you on the inside when you join. 🙂
      Kind Regards,
      David

      Reply
  11. Hi there,
    I have been on the fence about this for a while now but was just not sure if it was going to be worth it to me.

    See I have recently stuck my foot in the door of trying to make money online and realized that I would not be able to without a website.

    Needless to say I made one and from there found out that there was more to than just building it and they will come.

    I really appreciate the info you gave here because it has helped ease my mind about moving forward.

    Thanks again

    Reply
    • Hi Jason,

      I hear you. There is a lot more to affiliate marketing than just putting up a website. With the starter membership package from Wealthy Affiliate, you have access to some online training that will help you to get started in affiliate marketing. And if you find that it resonates with you, you might take them up on their premium membership.

      Cheers,
      David

      Reply
  12. Hello and thanks for sharing, this is an awesome review of wealthy affiliate, working from home is now becoming the thing of the day because of the many benefits that come with this type of work. Wealthy affiliate is that kind of business and offers that kind of training that can you up and ready in no time and the proof is there because of how big the community is and it just keeps growing. Thanks for sharing and have a good day.

    Reply
    • Hi Norman,

      Yes, Wealthy Affiliate is a great way to learn about working from home as an affiliate marketer, all from the comfort of your own home, at a place and time that suits you. They have a great starter trial membership package which is pretty impressive.

      Kind Regards,
      David

      Reply
  13. This a great review and write up David. I feel like I have not started. I wish you success lol.

    Reply
    • Hello Linah,

      Thank you for your comments. The best place in my opinion to educate yourself about affiliate marketing is explained in the article above. I wish you all the best with your affiliate marketing activities. 🙂

      Kind Regards,
      David

      Reply
  14. Wealthy Affiliate is truly an all-in-one platform that any aspiring affiliate marketer can begin their journey in. Better yet, we don’t have to have a specific level of experience at Wealthy Affiliate, since they cover even the most basic information with step-by-step text content and video tutorials. At the price, you just can’t beat it, especially given the community, networking provided, and the Jaaxy keyword tool. 

    Reply
    • Hi Todd,

      For anyone that is into affiliate marketing at any level, usually somehow between thinking about it or currently a highly successful affiliate marketer, Wealthy Affiliate is for you. Kyle one of the co-founders has developed a vast array of affiliate marketing education and training that explains very well a number of affiliate marketing strategies that affiliates need to master. Carson the other co-founder announces technical news quite often. 

      Happy affiliate marketing Todd,
      Peace,
      David

      Reply
  15. Great review!!! I like that you included some of your personal experiences. I have loved every minute of my Wealthy Affiliate journey and I think you have done an excellent job of communicating the perks of being a member. Your screen shots are really helpful as a way of getting your point across in a visual way!

    Reply
    • Hi Sara,

      Thank you. I hope that you continue to love your Wealthy Affiliate experience way into the future.

      Happy affiliate marketing with Wealthy Affiliate Sara,
      Peace,
      David

      Reply
  16. Hi David, this is very detailed and informative review of Wealthy Affiliate.

    Firstly, your review is very unbiased as you bluntly exposed the cons that most reviewers tried to cover about Wealthy Affiliate. Also, I cannot agree less with you that wealthy Affiliate is the home of successful Affiliates that every affiliate marketer who is serious about becoming a success should be. The trainings are massive and wide coupled with the total support from the community. Jaaxy keyword searches, opportunity to communicate with founders and so on.

    also, I believe that everything being taught should be put into practice. Necessary inputs give openings to outputs. The more you are willing to invest your time and consistency to what you have learnt from Wealthy Affiliate is the better chances you have to gain a living from it.

    thanks for the review altogether

    Reply
    • Hi there,

      Thank you. I think that it is important to be fair. Therefore I cover both the pros and the cons.

      Wealthy Affiliate as a platform for affiliate marketers has got a lot of things right and at this stage I expect them to keep rolling out improvements all the time.

      The affiliate marketing education and training provided in the core affiliate marketing courses are top-notch. If someone does the training and the suggested activities in a serious and determined manner, they are way more likely to become successful in affiliate marketing than not. They do need to take “corrective actions” when certain approaches do not work. For instance, using email autoresponders for some niche websites is not always a smart move.

      All the best,
      Peace,
      David

      Reply
  17. This is really good, makes me believe strongly that Wealthy Affiliate is the real deal.

    I remembered when I came across the platform a year ago after reading a review, I must confess I decided to give it a try only because it was free and like you, I ‘ve never taken a step back

    For me, it is the best online training platform any one can ever ask for. I am just glad I don’t have to worry about anything, as all I need to run my business is readily available within the platform

    It’s really the best any one can ask for

    Cheers..

    Reply
    • Hi,

      Yes, this is really good for sure. They have a very impressive number of members for sure.

      I am thrilled to hear that you don’t have to worry about anything about running your affiliate marketing business as everything you need to run your affiliate marketing business is as you say readily available within the platform.

      Happy Days. 🙂

      Peace,

      David

      Reply
  18. Hi David,

    Thank you so much for sharing such an informative article with all the necessary information about “A Wealthy Affiliate Review”

    Really this is an educative article. I like the article very much. I am a new affiliate member, and I wanted to know about this Wealthy Affiliate very deeply. Then I found your article. After reading your article I have gained all the thorough details about Wealthy Affiliate. It is also a good guideline for the affiliate marketer. I hope this will be very much helpful for all affiliate marketers. I will share this great article with my friends and relatives so that they can take the benefits from this.

    Reply
    • Thank you. Feel free to share this article with your friends and relatives. Please let me know if you have any affiliate marketing questions related to my article.

      Reply
  19. Very thorough and detailed analysis of Wealthy Affiliate!! I too, am a member and can agree on the pros and cons you stated. And you really can’t beat the value. Most SEO tools cost $30 a month. And here at WA you get that, with updated weekly training, the hosting, etc.

    Reply
    • So thrilled to hear that you are already a member. Thrilled also that you agree with my pros and cons. 

      Reply

Leave a Comment